Opinion - The Daily Collegian Mobile

back Side Panel

Most Popular

Puzzle Solutions

Trivia solution for Oct. 20, 2014

Trivia solution for Oct. 20, 2014

Posted:

Trivia solution for Oct. 20, 2014

Crossword solution for Oct. 20, 2014

Crossword solution for Oct. 20, 2014

Posted:

Crossword solution for Oct. 20, 2014

Kakuro solution for Oct. 20, 2014

Kakuro solution for Oct. 20, 2014

Posted:

Kakuro solution for Oct. 20, 2014

What’s in a (feminist’s) name?

What’s in a (feminist’s) name?

Posted:

As feminists, it is our responsibility to support women in their decisions, whether or not we agree with them.

Let’s use the new THAW festival to finally eradicate State Patty’s Day

Posted:

The new festival scheduled for State Patty’s Day weekend offers us the chance to celebrate in a more cultured way.

Halloween costumes: a chance to celebrate or offend if left unchecked

Posted:

Students need to be considerate when choosing Halloween costumes in order to promote an environment of welcoming.

A teacher’s perspective on education

Posted:

“Great teachers come from all backgrounds, identities, and experiences, but we are united by this difficult and deeply inspiring work.”

Standardized college entrance tests do not represent students’ abilities

Posted:

The current system of entrance exams allows economic bias to affect students’ chances of being accepted into colleges.

Clarify transparency complaints

Clarify transparency complaints

Posted:

“Transparency may forever be an empty buzzword. But by clarifying our claims, we can positively impact  our university and improve our reputation."

An open letter to Penn State’s trustees

Posted:

An open letter to Penn State’s trustees:

Senior class gift is a chance to give momentum to sustainable energy

Posted:

In order to forward the sustainability movement, seniors should select the solar panel array as the class of 2015 gift.

Be responsible with social media sites

Be responsible with social media sites

Posted:

Over the weekend, I went to New Jersey with some friends. Sunday afternoon, as we were getting ready to make the drive back to State College, …

Take a trip to an away football game

Take a trip to an away football game

Posted:

While we may not belt out ‘Hail to the Victors,’ it’s hard not to get goosebumps when  another school goes wild for its fight song.

Threats should be taken seriously, but shouldn’t control our lives

Posted:

We need to remember our actions on social media can  have effects just as tangible as our actions in the real world.

Cybersecurity needs to be your issue

Cybersecurity needs to be your issue

Posted:

“Today, it is our photos and contact information being released; what will it be tomorrow?”

Learn about other cultures from other students around campus

Posted:

New initiatives to better integrate international students should be supported as a way to unite the student community.

Franklin’s testimony needs to be considered in a rational light

Posted:

Don’t rush into premature judgement. Productive conversations are most feasible when we are educated.

Be conscious of others’ gender identity

Posted:

A conversation about gender pronouns is never as complicated as many people think.

Find something you love and chase it

Find something you love and chase it

Posted:

“Find work you love. You will know when you have found it.”

We have no reason to panic about Ebola, only to aid other nations

Posted:

Though we need to treat Ebola with the respect it deserves, we cannot forget about the developing nations who need aid.

Washington football needs to figure it out

Washington football needs to figure it out

Posted:

The Washington football franchise must make some major changes if they want to succeed anytime soon.

StateViews: U.S. Senator Bob Casey

StateViews: U.S. Senator Bob Casey

Posted:

StateViews is a segment from The Daily Collegian that gives members of the Pennsylvania and Penn State community a chance to share their opini…

Living far from campus and enjoying it every single day

Living far from campus and enjoying it every single day

Posted:

One reporter shares her views of living far from campus.

Close