Opinion - The Daily Collegian Mobile

back Side Panel

Most Popular

Puzzle Solutions

Kakuro solution for Oct. 22, 2014

Kakuro solution for Oct. 22, 2014

Posted:

Kakuro solution for Oct. 22, 2014

Trivia solution for Oct. 22, 2014

Trivia solution for Oct. 22, 2014

Posted:

Trivia solution for Oct. 22, 2014

Crossword solution for Oct. 22, 2014

Crossword solution for Oct. 22, 2014

Posted:

Crossword solution for Oct. 22, 2014

Don’t forget your identity in college

Don’t forget your identity in college

Posted:

“As we grow up, home becomes a transient, abstract idea.”

General education system is in the process of a much-needed overhaul

Posted:

The general education system should encourage students to be informed citizens and give them a chance to explore.

Be respectful to service workers

Be respectful to service workers

Posted:

“When I come in contact with a friendly, talkative customer who respects me and acknowledges my existence, it’s honestly so refreshing.”

New amendment to Clery Act is a positive step forward for justice

Posted:

New changes in Clery act reflect both importance of keeping laws updated and the issue of sexual assault on campuses.

‘Futbol’ is on the rise in America

‘Futbol’ is on the rise in America

Posted:

“...In the future, there’s certainly a possibility that while  one family is tossing around a brown, egg-shaped  football in their yard, acros…

Coming gubernatorial election will be extremely important for school

Posted:

In two weeks, many of us will elect a new governor of Pennsylvania.  Are we ready to make an informed decision?

What’s in a (feminist’s) name?

What’s in a (feminist’s) name?

Posted:

As feminists, it is our responsibility to support women in their decisions, whether or not we agree with them.

Let’s use the new THAW festival to finally eradicate State Patty’s Day

Posted:

The new festival scheduled for State Patty’s Day weekend offers us the chance to celebrate in a more cultured way.

Halloween costumes: a chance to celebrate or offend if left unchecked

Posted:

Students need to be considerate when choosing Halloween costumes in order to promote an environment of welcoming.

A teacher’s perspective on education

Posted:

“Great teachers come from all backgrounds, identities, and experiences, but we are united by this difficult and deeply inspiring work.”

Standardized college entrance tests do not represent students’ abilities

Posted:

The current system of entrance exams allows economic bias to affect students’ chances of being accepted into colleges.

Clarify transparency complaints

Clarify transparency complaints

Posted:

“Transparency may forever be an empty buzzword. But by clarifying our claims, we can positively impact  our university and improve our reputation."

An open letter to Penn State’s trustees

Posted:

An open letter to Penn State’s trustees:

Senior class gift is a chance to give momentum to sustainable energy

Posted:

In order to forward the sustainability movement, seniors should select the solar panel array as the class of 2015 gift.

Be responsible with social media sites

Be responsible with social media sites

Posted:

Over the weekend, I went to New Jersey with some friends. Sunday afternoon, as we were getting ready to make the drive back to State College, …

Take a trip to an away football game

Take a trip to an away football game

Posted:

While we may not belt out ‘Hail to the Victors,’ it’s hard not to get goosebumps when  another school goes wild for its fight song.

Threats should be taken seriously, but shouldn’t control our lives

Posted:

We need to remember our actions on social media can  have effects just as tangible as our actions in the real world.

Cybersecurity needs to be your issue

Cybersecurity needs to be your issue

Posted:

“Today, it is our photos and contact information being released; what will it be tomorrow?”

Learn about other cultures from other students around campus

Posted:

New initiatives to better integrate international students should be supported as a way to unite the student community.

Franklin’s testimony needs to be considered in a rational light

Posted:

Don’t rush into premature judgement. Productive conversations are most feasible when we are educated.

Close